Reinstall our software on Windows

You should not lose any of your settings if you reinstall to the same directory.

However, we recommend that you make a backup copy of your settings file (saved as user.ini or user) and your player notes file from the settings folder whenever you uninstall the software. The player notes file is only present if you have saved notes or labels on other players and is called notes.user.xml (where 'user' is your username). If you do not take notes on players just save a copy of your settings file.

To do this, open our software (if possible) and follow these steps:

Help → Open My Settings Folder

Locate the file(s) and copy them to a safe temporary location.

Locate the user file in our software

If you cannot open the software you will need to manually navigate to the settings folder to locate the file(s).

  1. Press the Windows Key + R (at the same time).
  2. Type the following or copy/paste into the area provided and press Enter:
    %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local
  3. Locate and open our software's folder.
  4. Locate user.ini or user and notes.user.xml (where applicable).
  5. Copy the file(s) to a safe temporary location (the desktop is a good choice).

Once you have made a copy of those files, uninstall our software:

Windows 10

Settings → Apps → Apps & Features

Use the search bar to find our software or scroll down the list, then select the program and press the Uninstall button.

Uninstall software in Windows 10


Windows 8

Settings → Control Panel → Programs

Uninstall all our software items.

Uninstall software in Windows 8


Windows Vista and Windows 7

Control Panel → Programs → Uninstall a program

Uninstall all our software items

Uninstall software in Windows 7


When the program is fully uninstalled please restart your computer. When the computer has restarted, download and install a fresh copy of the software from our website.

Finally, be sure to restore the file(s) once reinstalled:

Help → Open My Settings Folder.

Close our software, then copy the file(s) back into the folder (if you are asked to overwrite any files, accept).

You can also watch these videos for step by step instructions on backing up and restoring the files.

Feedback

Did this article answer your question?

Related Help Articles