Announcement: Delayed responses/site issues - (click/tap here for more details)

Search Help

Simply type a keyword or short sentence relating to your query into the box below, and our help system will return the most relevant articles.

Search

Complete reinstallation of our Windows software

Back up user files

Details

We recommend that you make a copy of user.ini (your preferences) and notes.user.xml (where user is your Stars ID) from the settings folder whenever you uninstall our software. To do this:

  1. Open our software (if possible).
  2. Click on Help (click More first if not visible).
  3. Click on Open My Settings Folder.
  4. Locate those two files and copy them to a safe temporary location.

If you cannot open our software you will need to manually navigate to the settings folder to locate those files:

Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8 and Windows 10

  1. Press the Windows Key + R (at the same time).
  2. Type the following or copy/paste into the area provided and press Enter:

    %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local

  3. Locate and open our software's folder.
  4. Locate user.ini or user and notes.user.xml.
  5. Copy the files to a safe temporary location (the desktop is a good choice).

Windows XP

  1. Double-click My Computer on your desktop or Start menu.
  2. Double-click C: drive to view your hard drive.
  3. Double-click on Program Files.
  4. Scroll down and double-click on our software's folder.
  5. Locate user.ini or user and notes.user.xml.
  6. Copy the files to a safe temporary location (the desktop is a good choice).

Once you have made a copy of those files, uninstall our software from your computer:

Uninstall our software

Details

Windows 10

  1. Start
  2. Settings
  3. System
  4. Apps & Features
  5. Use the search bar to find our software or scroll down the list.
  6. Select our software and click on the Uninstall button.

Windows 8

  1. Settings
  2. Control Panel
  3. Programs and Features
  4. Uninstall all our software's items.

Windows Vista and Windows 7

  1. Control Panel
  2. Programs
  3. Uninstall a Program
  4. Uninstall all our software's items.

Windows XP

  1. Control Panel
  2. Add and Remove Programs
  3. Remove all of our software's items.

Delete program files

Details

After the uninstall has finished please delete all program files from the install directory (default folder is located in C:\Program Files).

You will also need to delete the settings files. To locate these files, follow the instructions from the beginning of this article to open the settings folder. Once you have located the folder delete all files contained in the folder.

User and software permissions

Details

On completion of deleting all files make sure that you have logged into Windows using an account that has Administrator rights.

Windows Vista, 7, 8 and 10 (Skip for XP)

Ensure that UAC is enabled as having this disabled may cause our software to not run. To do this:

  1. Press the Start button.
  2. Type UAC.
  3. Click on Change User Account Control Setting.
  4. Please ensure that the slider bar is on Default which is the second option from the top.
  5. Once this is done click OK and restart your computer.

Download our software

Details

Please download and install our software from our website.

Windows Vista, 7, 8 and 10 (Skip for XP)

Please install into the default directory of C:\Program Files\...\ and then try running the program again. If you wish to silence the UAC without turning it off, there are third-party programs that can help you with this. You can find these tools through a Google search of UAC silent mode.

Windows XP

If you are using XP Home Edition, please try installing our software into the Shared Documents folder. With XP Professional, you may either use the Shared Documents solution, or you may directly change the file permissions. To make these changes you must be logged into XP with an account that has Administrator privileges.

Restore Files

Details

Be sure to restore the two saved files once reinstalled. To do this:

  1. Go to the Help menu.
  2. Select Open My Settings Folder.
  3. Click Open My Settings Folder button.
  4. Close our software and copy the files back into the folder.

If you are asked to overwrite any files accept.

Feedback

Was this article helpfull?

Related Help Articles